Call for nominations for Rosemary O'Leary award 2024

Dear IRSPM members and friends

We are now inviting nominations for the Rosemary O’Leary award 2024.

This prize was first awarded in 2019 and was established to recognise excellent scholarship on women in public administration, broadly defined. It is named after Professor Rosemary O’Leary who is an outstanding public management scholar and a previous IRSPM Routledge lifetime achievement award winner. 

Nominations close on Monday 15 January 2024 (midnight CET) and should be sent to

Please note the following information before submitting nominations:

Eligibility criteria

  1. The article must have been published in the preceding volume year (online first). For the 2024 award, this means the article must have appeared online first in 2023.
  2. The nominations are not limited to IRSPM members. Anyone who meets the requirements can be nominated.
  3. Current IRSPM board members are not eligible for this prize.
  4. Individuals may only be nominated for one paper (as sole or co-author) in each year.
  5. The topic must be women and public management / public administration, broadly defined.
  6. Authors may self-nominate or be nominated by others.
  7. IRSPM reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.

Nomination procedure

  • Articles must be nominated by 15 January 2023 (midnight CET) by email to:
  • Nominations must be submitted including the following information: 

                  - a digital copy of the nominated article 

                  - a brief (maximum 150 words) statement that outlines why the article has been nominated

  • The award committee, chaired by the IRSPM President, will consider applications, deliberate, decide on the winning article and will inform the winning author(s) by first week of February 2024.
  • Mention the IRSPM O’Leary award 2024 and your full name in the subject of your email.

Criteria for evaluation 

The articles will be evaluated according to: 

         a) significance

         b) excellence in writing and communication

         c) scholarly innovation and rigour; and 

         d) implications for policy and practice.

The award winner will be invited to give a keynote lecture at the IRSPM Conference 2024 on 16 – 18 April 2024 and offered free conference registration for one of the authors.

We look forward to receiving your nominations!

IRSPM President

Professor Ileana Steccolini

on behalf of the IRSPM Awards Committee

close menu