Call for nominations for the IRSPM O'Leary prize 2022

Dear IRSPM members and friends,

We are now inviting nominations for the 2022 IRSPM O’Leary prize. This prize was first awarded in 2019 and was established to recognise excellent scholarship on women in public administration, broadly defined. It is named after Professor Rosemary O’Leary who is an outstanding public management scholar and a previous IRSPM Routledge lifetime achievement award winner. 

Nominations close on 31 January 2022 and should be sent to Professor Mariafrancesca Sicilia: 

Please note the following information before submitting nominations.

Eligibility criteria

  1. The article must have been published in the preceding volume year (online first). For the 2022 Prize, this means the article must have appeared online first in 2021
  2. Current IRSPM board members are not eligible for this prize
  3. Individuals may only be nominated for one paper (as sole or co-author) in each year
  4. The topic must be women and public management / public administration, broadly defined
  5. Authors may self-nominate or be nominated by others
  6. IRSPM reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year


Criteria for evaluating nominated articles

The articles are evaluated according to: 

  1.        a) significance; 
  2.        b) excellence in writing and communication;  
  3.        c) scholarly innovation and rigour; and 
  4.        d) implications for policy and practice.

The award winner will be invited to give a keynote lecture at the IRSPM Conference 2022 (19 – 22 April 2022) and offered free conference registration for one of the authors.

We look forward to receiving your nominations!

IRSPM President

Professor Jenny M Lewis

on behalf of the Prize Committee